Deleting communities
Added by IBM contributorIBM | Edited by Claudia R Elbourn on June 15, 2015
Rate this article 1 starsRate this article 2 starsRate this article 3 starsRate this article 4 starsRate this article 5 stars

To delete a community, use the HTTP DELETE method.
Tags: commapi


  • Only the owner of a community can delete it. Deleted communities cannot be restored.
  • If the community is in the trash, then only a user in the Community admin role can do a delete. This action will destroy the community and all it's content.
Method URI Description
DELETE /communities/service/atom/community/instance Value of the href attribute of <link> element that has a rel="edit" attribute value for each entry in the my communities feed. NOTE Only Communities administrators can delete a community from the trash.
Name Type Optional Description
string No The UUID of the community you wish to delete.
Code Description
OK. Indicates that the community was successfully deleted.
Unauthorized. Returned when no authenticated user or no userid, email, or key parameter are provided on the request.
Not Found.