Exercise 2.15: Administrator options for trash management and soft deleteAdded by IBM on September 26, 2013 | Version 1
|In this exercise, you will set options for trash management and soft deletions for your SmartCloud Notes® users.
Administrators in IBM SmartCloud
) may now control whether users may empty the trash folder. Administrators can allow SmartCloud Notes
users to permanently delete messages from the Trash folder by clicking 'Empty Trash' or by selecting a message and deleting it. The option is enabled by default. If an administrator disables this option, mail remains in the Trash folder for the duration specified in the field 'Retain deleted messages for how many days?', and then it is deleted automatically.
After completing this exercise, you should be able to:
Parent topic: Lesson 2: Administering IBM SmartCloud Notes
Previous topic: Exercise 2.14: Administrator controlled allow-block lists for inbound mail messages
Next topic: Exercise 2.16: Setting the Notes link style
- Enable end users to empty their trash folder
- Set the soft-delete period for deleted mail
- Log into the service using the e-mail address and password of a SmartCloud Notes user with the Administrator role.
- If your account also has the User role, click Administration -> Manage Organization . Otherwise, skip this step.
- From the left navigation pane, click Lotus Notes.
- Click Account Settings and then click Email Management.
- Under Configure Mail Retention in the Trash Folder, complete these fields to manage mail in the Trash folder:
Table 1. Configure Mail Retention in the Trash Folder
|Retain deleted messages for how many days?||By default, when an IBM SmartCloud Notes user deletes a message, the message is moved to the Trash folder where it remains for 14 days, and then is permanently deleted. This is known as a soft delete. Enter a number from 14 - 90 to change the value, or leave the field blank to accept the default. If you decrease an interval that was previously set, then all messages that meet the new criteria are deleted. For example, if you decrease the interval from 20 days to 16 days, then mail in the Trash folder older than 16 days is deleted.|
Tip: During the specified interval, users can restore messages to their original folder.
|Allow users to empty the Trash folder||Select this option so that SmartCloud Notes users can permanently delete messages from the Trash folder by clicking Empty Trash or by selecting a message and deleting it. This option is enabled by default. If you disable this option, mail remains in the Trash folder for the duration specified above, and then it is deleted automatically.|
Important: Documents that are deleted from the Trash folder cannot be recovered.
- Click Save to apply the settings.