|In this exercise, you will learn how to delete a user's account.
This process should be done only if the user has no other IBM Connections Cloud
(Connections Cloud) service subscriptions and you do not plan to reinstate the user's IBM SmartCloud Notes
® (SmartCloud Notes
) subscription. When you delete a user using this process, all of their Connections Cloud subscriptions, including subscriptions other than mail, will also be removed, and the user's data will be lost. If you change your mind about the deletion, you have up to 30 days to restore the account to full functionality. In a service-only environment, if you delete a user account within seven days of adding an IBM SmartCloud® Notes® subscription, all SmartCloud Notes user data, including the mail file, is permanently deleted and cannot be restored.
After completing this exercise, you should be able to:
Parent topic: Lesson 2: Administering IBM SmartCloud Notes
Next topic: Exercise 2.2: Suspending and unsuspending a user
- Delete a SmartCloud Notes user's account.
- Log into the service and navigate to the SmartCloud Notes Administration panel. For detailed steps, see the procedure document Accessing the SmartCloud Notes Administration pages.
- From the left navigation pane, click User Accounts.
- Click the arrow next to the user's name that you would like to delete.
- Select Delete User.
Important: Be sure that you are deleting the correct user. A SmartCloud Notes user should be deleted only if the user has no other Connections Cloud subscriptions and you do not plan to reinstate the user's SmartCloud Notes subscription. When you delete a user using this process, all of their Connections Cloud subscriptions, including subscriptions other than mail, will also be removed, and the user's data will be lost.
- You will be prompted with a confirmation window. If you are sure that you want to delete the user, click Trash.
Note: If you click Cancel, you have the opportunity to assign the user's resources to another user. This would transfer only any collaboration resources, such as Files, but would not transfer the mail file.
- You will be returned to the User Accounts tab. Notice that the user's status has changed to "Trash".
Read about the results of deleting a user in the online documentation article, Deleting a user Account.
I deleted a user in error. Is there any way to get the user's account back?
In a SmartCloud Notes Service-only environment, if you later determine that the user should not have been deleted, different scenarios apply depending on how long ago you created the user:
1) If you deleted the user's account within 7 days of originally creating the account, you can create a new account with the same name or internet address. This new account will be a brand new user. Any information or data from the previous instance of the user's account will not be carried over to this new account.
2) If the user's account is deleted after the 7 day window, you have up to 30 days to restore the account to full functionality including mail.
The user can be viewed in the User Accounts page, with a status of "Trash". To restore the user, click the arrow next to the user's name, then click Restore