Exercise 2.20: Administrator settings for trash management and soft-deleteAdded by IBM | Edited by Sally Cripe on August 12, 2014 | Version 4
|Enable end users to empty their trash folder, and set the soft-delete period for deleted mail.
Administrators in IBM SmartCloud
® (SmartCloud Notes
) may now control whether users may empty the trash folder. Administrators can allow SmartCloud Notes
users to permanently delete messages from the Trash folder by clicking 'Empty Trash' or by selecting a message and deleting it. The option is enabled by default. Documents that are deleted from the Trash folder cannot be recovered. While deleted mail is in the Trash folder, users can restore it to its original folder. To safeguard users from accidentally emptying their trash folder, administrators may wish to disable the ability for user to empty their trash. When an administrator disables this option, mail remains in the Trash folder for the duration specified in the field 'Retain deleted messages for how many days?', and then it is deleted automatically. Administrators may also wish to increase the default duration for deleted messages to remain in the trash folder. The default is 14 days and after that the messages are automatically deleted.
In this exercise, you will:
Parent topic: Messaging configuration options in IBM SmartCloud Notes
- Enable end users to empty their trash folder
- Set the soft-delete period for deleted mail
Previous topic: Exercise 2.19: Administrator controlled allow-block lists for inbound mail messages
Next topic: Exercise 2.21: Setting the Notes link style
1. Log on to the service using the e-mail address and password of a SmartCloud Notes
user with the Administrator role.
2. If your user account also has the User role, click Administration
-> Manage Organization
at the top of the dashboard. Otherwise, skip to the next step.
3. Click Lotus Notes
4. Click Account Settings
and then click Email Management
5. Under Configure Mail Retention in the Trash Folder, complete these fields to manage mail in the Trash folder:
Retain deleted messages for how many days?
By default, when an IBM SmartCloud Notes user deletes a message, the message is moved to the Trash folder where it remains for 14 days, and then is permanently deleted. This is known as a soft delete. Enter a number from 14 - 90 to change the value, or leave the field blank to accept the default.
If you decrease an interval that was previously set, then all messages that meet the new criteria are deleted. For example, if you decrease the interval from 20 days to 16 days, then mail in the Trash folder older than 16 days is deleted.
Tip: During the specified interval, users can restore messages to their original folder.
Allow users to empty the Trash folder
Select this option so that SmartCloud Notes users can permanently delete messages from the Trash folder by clicking Empty Trash or by selecting a message and deleting it. This option is enabled by default.
If you disable this option, mail remains in the Trash folder for the duration specified above, and then it is deleted automatically.
Important: Documents that are deleted from the Trash folder cannot be recovered.
6. Click Save
to apply the settings.