You'll find many more people you can add to your network when you make yourself part of the IBM SmartCloud Engage or SmartCloud Connections Directory Search. If your administrator has selected to allow users to be searchable from outside your company by other SmartCloud Engage or SmartCloud Connections users, then anyone in IBM SmartCloud for Social Business will be able to search for you using a profile search. When you are found, only a limited set of field information is returned (name, company, title). The person searching can add you to their contact list and they can send you an invitation to add you to their network.
If you don't want to be searched, you can remove yourself from search results by editing the following directory search option in your profile:
If you invite someone from your company or external to your company to join your network, the person you invite can choose to accept the request or ignore it. If they accept the request, both of you will be able to see each other's full profile, not just the summary. You will be able to see communities in common and other people whom you know in common.
When two people are connected from different companies they can now be searched. You can add a network contact to your instant messaging buddy list, and you will be able see your network contact's status and awareness as well as chat.
At any time, you can revoke a connection request and sever ties with the other person. When this happens, the other person will no longer be able to see your detailed full profile and you will not be able to see their insant messaging presence or chat with them.
If you choose not to be part of the Directory, or your administrator has selected to allow users not to be searchable from outside your company by LotusLive users, you will not be found by anyone via a profile search except for people in your same company or organization.