General remote wipe considerations:
The wipe command is enacted on the device the next time it connects. If the device is connected at the time, the wipe occurs immediately. If the device is not connected and an SMS address has been provided (or added on the server), then an SMS message is sent (in addition to push) to tell the client to check in with the push or accept the action if it cannot log in. This SMS message travels over the cellular network, and is received almost immediately if the device is able to receive text messages (the phone is on and connected to the cellular network).
The user (and not the admin) can perform these Remote Wipe actions from the Manage Security
section of the IBM Notes Traveler User Home Page
, assuming that the system administrator allows it.
For ActiveSync devices, the IBM Traveler Application and Data
option occurs during a sync. As a result, the device must be able to connect with the server for the data removal to occur. The mail server must be accessible and the ACL must still be correct for the sync that is erasing all the data to work. The IBM Traveler Application and Data
option will remove all data and erase all calendar and contact information. In addition, all mail folders (and their contents) will be erased, except for the Inbox which is left with a message stating that the device has been wiped and provides instructions on how to remove the account. The IBM Notes
Traveler account is not deleted or modified in any way, but if the device tries to sync, it will get an access denied response.
Apple remote wipe considerations:
Apple devices support only the Hard Reset Device
and IBM Traveler Application and Data
options and do not use SMS for remote wipe.
BlackBerry 10 remote wipe considerations:
A BlackBerry 10 device remote wipe result depends upon whether or not the device is registered to and managed by a BlackBerry Enterprise Service 10 or not. If the device is managed by BES 10, then the remote wipe will erase only the work perimeter. If not, and the device connects directly to IBM Notes
Traveler, then the entire device will be wiped.
Nokia remote wipe considerations:
For some Nokia devices, this feature requires installation of a Nokia security enablement library. This library can be obtained from the http://download.fds-ncom.nokia.com/supportFiles/phones/files/pdf_guides/services/IBM_TTPA_Allow_New_App/IBMTTPAAllowNewApp.SIS
" target="external">Nokia IBM Notes Traveler site
Nokia N-Series devices support only the IBM Traveler Application and Data
option. Only supported options display for the selected device.
Windows™ Mobile remote wipe considerations:
Some older Windows
Mobile devices running Windows
Mobile version 5 without the Microsoft
™ Messaging and Security Feature Pack upgrade do not hard reset when they receive the reset command from the IBM Notes
Traveler server. Instead these devices reboot. If this happens, then the IBM Notes
Traveler client detects that the hard reset command failed and executes a wipe of the IBM Notes
Traveler application and data.
Android remote wipe considerations:
Note: If you are using AirWatch for mobile application management, a remote wipe of the IBM Notes Traveler client for Android can be run from the AirWatch application management console, even if a user's Traveler credentials were revoked. Support for this option requires version 4.2.362 or later of the AirWatch MDM Agent application for Android, and version 126.96.36.199 201309251652 or later of the IBM Notes Traveler client.
Clearing a wipe request
If a lost device is found you may need to cancel a wipe request to reset it. You also need to unlock a user account after a wipe command has been issued.
Updating an SMS mail address
For a wipe command to be sent over Short Message Service (SMS), the SMS mail address must be correctly specified.
User managed security
With user managed security, users can remotely wipe or lock their own devices without the help of an administrator using the Manage Security section of the IBM Notes Traveler User Home Page.
Parent topic: Administering IBM Notes Traveler
1. Before wiping a device, make sure that you do not add the user to the deny list. This is because the device must be able to connect to receive the wipe command. The deny list has no exceptions so the user must have access until after the wipe has taken place.
2. Open the IBM Notes
Traveler administration application. Refer to Using the administration application
for more information.
3. Open the Device Security
4. Select the device.
5. Select the Wipe Device
6. Select one or more of these options:
- Hard Reset Device – This option restores the device to factory default settings, and removes the IBM Notes Traveler application and all PIM and mail data that was synced with IBM Notes Traveler.
- IBM Traveler Application and Data – This option removes the IBM Notes Traveler application and all PIM and mail data that was synced with IBM Notes Traveler.
- Storage Card – This option removes any data that is present on storage cards loaded in the device.