|If a mobile device is lost or stolen, an administrator can issue a remote wipe command to remove all sensitive data from the device. You can remove the IBM® Lotus Notes® Traveler application and data from the device and, depending on the device, restore the device to the factory default settings.
If a mobile device is lost or stolen, an administrator can issue a remote wipe command to remove all sensitive data from the device. You can remove the IBM
® Lotus Notes
® Traveler application and data from the device and, depending on the device, restore the device to the factory default settings.
Before wiping a device, make sure that you do not add the user to the deny list. This is because the device must be able to connect to receive the wipe command. The deny list has no exceptions so the user must have access until after the wipe has taken place.
Open the Lotus Notes Traveler administration application. Refer to Using the administration application for more information.
Open the Device Security view.
Select the device.
Select the Wipe Device action.
Select one or more of these options:
Hard Reset Device – This option restores the device to factory default settings, and removes the Lotus Notes Traveler application and all PIM and mail data that was synced with Lotus Notes Traveler.
Lotus Traveler Application and Data – This option removes the Lotus Notes Traveler application and all PIM and mail data that was synced with Lotus Notes Traveler.
Storage Card – This option removes any data that is present on storage cards loaded in the device.
General remote wipe considerations:
Note: The wipe command is enacted on the device the next time it connects. If the device is connected at the time, the wipe occurs immediately. If the device is not connected and an SMS address has been provided (or added on the server), then an SMS message is sent (in addition to push) to tell the client to check in with the push or accept the action if it cannot log in. This SMS message travels over the cellular network, and is received almost immediately if the device is able to receive text messages (the phone is on and connected to the cellular network).
Note: The user (and not the admin) can perform these Remote Wipe actions from the Manage Security section of the Lotus Notes Traveler User Home Page, assuming that the system administrator allows it.
Apple remote wipe considerations:
Note: Apple devices support only the Hard Reset Device and Lotus Traveler Application and Data options and do not use SMS for remote wipe.
Note: For Apple devices, the Lotus Traveler Application and Data option occurs during a sync. As a result, the device must be able to connect with the server for the data removal to occur. The mail server must be accessible and the ACL must still be correct for the sync that is erasing all the data to work. The Lotus Traveler Application and Data option will remove all data and erase all calendar and contact information. In addition, all mail folders (and their contents) will be erased, except for the Inbox which is left with a message stating that the device has been wiped and provides instructions on how to remove the account. The Lotus Notes Traveler account is not deleted or modified in any way, but if the device tries to sync, it will get an access denied response.
Nokia remote wipe considerations:
Note: For some Nokia devices, this feature requires installation of a Nokia security enablement library. This library can be obtained from the Nokia IBM Lotus Notes Traveler site
Note: Nokia N-Series devices support only the Lotus Traveler Application and Data option. Only supported options display for the selected device.
Windows™ Mobile remote wipe considerations:
Note: Some older Windows Mobile devices running Windows Mobile version 5 without the Microsoft™ Messaging and Security Feature Pack upgrade do not hard reset when they receive the reset command from the Lotus Notes Traveler server. Instead these devices reboot. If this happens, then the Lotus Notes Traveler client detects that the hard reset command failed and executes a wipe of the Lotus Notes Traveler application and data.
Clearing a wipe request
If a lost device is found you may need to cancel a wipe request to reset it. You also need to unlock a user account after a wipe command has been issued.
Updating an SMS mail address
For a wipe command to be sent over Short Message Service (SMS), the SMS mail address must be correctly specified.
User managed security
With user managed security, users can remotely wipe or lock their own devices without the help of an administrator using the Manage Security section of the Lotus Notes Traveler User Home Page.
Parent topic: Administering Lotus Notes Traveler