|An introduction to the moderation feature introduced in IBM Connections 3.0.1.
ShowTable of Contents
Using Moderation Video - IBM Connections 3.0.1
Learn how to moderate content so that you can approve it before it is published or review content that is flagged after it is published.
Watch the video full screen in a new window
Download this video in .mp4 format
A transcript of this video is available in English. For other available languages, use the Translate Page
drop-down list to translate this wiki article.
Using Moderation - English Transcript
Moderation allows you to review and approve content in Forums, Blogs, and Community files before the content is published.
Welcome screen displays.
© Copyright IBM Corporation 2010.
2: Contributing content
If moderation is enabled, users can contribute content, for example, by commenting on a forum post.
Show creating a forum post.
After saving a post, the user is notified that the content has been submitted for review. The content does not display in the forum until it is approved by a moderator.
Show notification message.
3: Moderating content
After contributing an entry to a blog, the user is once again notified that the content has been submitted for review.
Create a blog post and show notification message.
If you are designated as a moderator by the Connections administrator, you will see a Moderation tab as part of the Connections interface.
Show Moderation tab
The Moderation page shows all of the content awaiting action so that you can review it from a central location.
Click Make a comment.
For example, you can review a blog comment. If it is acceptable, click Approve to publish it to the blog. It is now available for users to read.
Show approving a blog comment.
Next, consider the files users have uploaded to share with community members.
If a file is acceptable, you can approve it and make it available in the community.
Show accepting a file.
If you object to a file, you can reject it and send a notification to the file owner explaining why you do not want this file available in the community.
Show rejecting a file.
Files you reject display on the Rejected tab.
Switch to Rejected.
From there, you can delete a file to permanently remove it, or you can approve it to publish it to the community.
Show approving a file.
Similarly, you can approve or delete forum posts.
Show approving and deleting forum posts.
4: Viewing content you contributed
If you are a blog owner, you can view content that has been contributed to the blog to see what state it is in.
Click blog entries.
View the entries for your blog.
View the list of entries.
You can see the blog content in various states.
Show content states.
For published content, you can see the author and the moderator who approved the content for publication.
Show information about content.
5: Flagging content
After content is published, users can flag content as inappropriate. For example, if a forum posting violates company policy, a user can flag the comment.
Show flagging a forum posting.
This blog entry describes a product that hasn't yet been announced, so a user flags it as inappropriate.
Show flagging a blog entry.
6. Moderating flagged content
The next time you visit the Moderation page, you can review content that has been flagged.
Show flagged content in Moderation tab.
If you feel the content is acceptable, you can dismiss the flag and enter a reason why the content can remain available.
Click Dismiss and enter a reason for dismissing the flag.
If you agree that the content is inappropriate, you can quarantine the post, which removes it from the forum.
Show quarantining the forum post.
You can view quarantined content, and dismiss the flag or delete the content from that tab.
Show the quarantine tab.
Thank you for watching this demo.
Display the closing screen.
For more information about using Moderation, see the product documentation in the Connections wiki.
Display the replay button.
© Copyright IBM Corporation 2010.