Because replies often have child replies associated with them, when you delete a reply from a forum, the reply is not entirely removed. Instead, if you use the HTTP DELETE command to delete the reply, the reply content is replaced with a standard message that states that the content has been removed. If you want a custom message to be displayed, use the HTTP PUT command instead.
Only the owner of a stand-alone forum can delete a forum reply from it. Deleted replies cannot be restored.
See Authenticating requests
for information about how to authenticate the request.
Note: If you want to customize the message that is displayed when the reply is deleted, use a PUT method to delete the reply instead. Be sure to provide the <category scheme="http://www.ibm.com/xmlns/prod/sn/flags term="deleted"> element in the entry content. See Updating a forum reply for more information.