You must be a member of a private activity to see the activity, its entries, and its membership list. By default, new activities are private. Only those members that you add to the activity can access it.
Typically, you add members to a standard activity when you create it. However, you and the other members of the activity can continue to add new members after the activity is started. You can add both individual members and group members.
When you add a member to a standard activity, you assign the member to a specific role. Members can belong to one of the following roles:
Can view content and members and notify other members about entries, but cannot add or modify content or members.Author
Can view and post entries; add, change, and remove tags for the activity and its entries; view and add and remove members with author or reader roles.Owner
Can add, modify, and delete any of the content or members of an activity and the activity itself.
The person who creates the activity is automatically assigned to the owner role. A person who is added to the membership list both as an individual and as part of a group always receives the access rights associated with the individual membership entry. For example, if Mary was added by name to the reader role of an activity, and also added as part of a group to the author role, Mary is granted reader-level access to the activity.
However, if a person is a member of two groups that are added as members and each of the groups has a different member role, the person receives the membership rights of the group with the higher level of access. For example, if Group A is added to the author role of an activity and Group B is added to the reader role, and John is a member of both groups, then John is given author access to the activity.
Public activities can be accessed by anyone who has access to the Activities server.
Note: Public activities are displayed in the Public Activities view only; they are not displayed in any of the other views, including the priority views.
To make an activity public, create the activity, expand the Members list, and then under Public Access click (Change) next to the currently selected access level to select a different level. The default access level is private.
Note: This option is not available from a community activity.