With version 3, support was added to the product to better identify whether people in the directory are "active," meaning current employees or "inactive," meaning were once listed in the directory, but have since left the company.
This feature enables users who are "inactive" to be kept in the product membership and login tables as opposed to having to be removed from the product databases entirely. This change both conserves the data the inactive user created and makes it possible for inactive employees to return to the organization and regain access to their previously created data.
This feature implements the following behavior:
Parent topic: Managing users
- In searches and membership selection fields, only active people are displayed by default.
- Useful data that people who have left the company contributed to IBM® Connections applications does not have to be removed; it can remain for use by others, but the product user interface reflects the fact that the contributing user is currently inactive.
- People who return to the company can be reactivated and can regain access to their old data.
- Support is available to search for inactive people specifically.