When you upload a file an initial version of that file is created. Your original work is saved in that first version until you delete it. When you or someone with Editor access edits your file and uploads it again, a new version is created.
Versioning can be turned off by the administrator. When versioning is turned off there is only one version of the file. When a file is edited and uploaded, the new version overwrites the current version.
To access versions of a file, open the file page and click the Versions
tab. You can see information including the version number, when it was edited, and the person who made the edits. You can download versions of the file, and if you own the file or have Editor access, you can restore a previous version to make it the latest version. Only an owner or administrator can delete a version of the file.
When you restore an older version of the file, only the content of the file is restored. The title, tags, and other properties on a file page do not change.
Parent topic: Files overviews, how-tos, and FAQs
Welcome to Files
How do I add my own files?
How do I share files?
What can I do with other people's files?
How do I create folders?
What can I do with tags in Files?
How do I find files?
How do I track file and folder changes?
How does trash work?