File owners can keep their files private, share them with users and communities, or make them public.
The person who uploads a file for the first time is its owner. If the owner does not share or make the file public, the file is private, and only the owner can read and edit it.
Owners can share their files with people or communities. People can have Reader or Editor access to the file. Communities can only have Reader access.
- Reader access: Readers can read, comment on, download, and recommend a file, be notified of changes to the file, and share the file. They can add a file to one of their folders, or to a folder to which they have Contributor access.
- Editor access: Editors can read, edit, comment on, download, recommend, upload a new version of, and set properties on the file. They can be notified of changes to the file, and share it. Editors can also add a file to a folder of theirs, or to a folder to which they have Contributor access.
Owners can also make a file public, meaning everyone who can access IBM
® Connections can read the file.
In some file lists, private files are marked with a private icon
, shared files are marked with a shared icon
, and public files are marked with a public icon
. If a file is both public and shared, it is marked with a public icon. If you hover over the icon, help text explains that the file is both public and shared.
Parent topic: Files overviews, how-tos, and FAQs
Welcome to Files
How do I add my own files?
How do I share files?
What can I do with other people's files?
How do I create folders?
What can I do with tags in Files?
How do I find files?
How do I track file and folder changes?
How does trash work?