Frequently asked questions about the Home pageAdded by IBM on February 11, 2013 | Version 1 (Original)
|Lists the questions that Home page users ask most often and provides brief answers.
What is the Home page?
- What is the Home page?
- Can I set one of the views as my default view?
- What are widgets?
- What can I do with IBM Connections widgets?
- What widgets can I add to my Home page?
- If I rearrange the widgets, what happens the next time I open the page?
- If I close a widget, does that mean that I can't use it again?
- What is the limit of the number of entries displayed in the activity stream views?
- What happens to updates on the Home page when someone deletes the original content?
Can I set one of the views as my default view?
The Home page application delivers an aggregated view of the latest updates from all the IBM
Connections applications. If your administrator has enabled it, the Home page also delivers updates from third-party applications. You can filter the list of updates using the different views available.
What are widgets?
No, but the views have different URLs, so you can bookmark your favorite view at any time.
What can I do with IBM Connections widgets?
A widget is a self-contained, HTML-based representation of a software component. The My Page view uses widgets to display a snapshot view of updates from each of the IBM
Connections applications. You can also add a selection of widgets to the side column in the activity stream views.
What widgets can I add to my Home page?
You can stay current with updates from all of your IBM
Connections applications directly from the Home page. Some widgets allow you to toggle between different views to display different types of information.
If I rearrange the widgets, what happens the next time I open the page?
You can add widgets for each of the IBM
Connections applications you have installed. Third-party widgets might also be available if your administrator has enabled them. You can view the widgets available for use by clicking Customize
from the My Page or activity stream views.
If I close a widget, does that mean that I can't use it again?
Whenever you add or move a widget, the next time you open the page, the widget displays in the same location. The widget also displays the same view as when you last viewed it.
What is the limit of the number of entries displayed in the activity stream views?
Closing a widget returns it to the content palette. You can add the widget to the Home page again whenever you want.
What happens to updates on the Home page when someone deletes the original content?
There is no limit to the number of entries that you can display. The activity stream displays the full number of entries in all views, except for entries that are 30 days or older. The length of time after which entries are purged is set to 30 days by default.
When a user deletes content from IBM Connections, any updates related to the deleted content are removed, including comments or recommendations for that content. If you saved an update related to the deleted content, that update is also removed from your Saved view.Parent topic: Using
Getting started with IBM Connections