Before you begin
You can tell if trash is enabled for your deployment by checking if the Move to Trash
option is available from the More Actions
menu for individual files. If you see the Delete
option instead of Move to Trash
, this means that trash is not enabled.
About this task
If trash is enabled, when community members remove files from a community, those files are moved to the trash rather than being completely deleted from the community. The files are held in the trash until a community owner either deletes them permanently or restores them to the community.
Any community member can view the content of the trash, but you must be a community owner to restore files from the trash. Community owners can manage the trash content by checking it periodically and emptying it when files are no longer needed.
Parent topic: Adding files to a community
Managing community files
- To open the trash view, select Files from the navigation and click View Trash.
Any community member can access this view.
- Do one of the following:
You must be a community owner to perform any of the following tasks.
- To restore a file to the community, click the arrow next to the file and select Restore.
- To delete a file from the trash, click the arrow next to the file and select Delete.
When you select this option, the file is permanently removed and the option to restore it to the community is no longer available.
- To delete all the files in the trash, click Empty Trash.
When you select this option, the files are permanently removed and the option to restore them to the community is no longer available.