Before you begin
Moving a file to the trash hides it from all folders and it no longer appears in searches. When you move a file to trash, all of the file's versions, recommendations, and comments move to trash, and the file is hidden from people with whom you have shared it.
If a file is restored from the trash, it is added back to the folders it was previously in, and all data is restored. When you restore a file from trash, all versions, recommendations, and comments are restored, and people with whom you have shared the file can see it again.
Administrators can see and work with files in your trash.
Files in trash count toward your file size quota. When you reach your quota limit you can delete files in trash to create space to upload more files.
About this task
You can move one or more files to Trash
and then either restore or delete them.
- Open a file page.
- Click More Actions -> Move to Trash, and then click OK.
Note: To move multiple files to trash, open a view (such as My Files), check the boxes next to files to move and then click Move to Trash and then click OK. You can only move files you own to the trash.
- Optional: To restore or delete files in trash, click Trash in the navigation box and then do one of the following actions:
Optional: To permanently delete all files in the trash, click Empty Trash.
- To restore a file, click the arrow icon next to the file name and select Restore.
- To permanently delete the file, click the arrow icon next to he file name and select Delete.
Parent topic: Using
What is Files?
Understanding file access rights
Using a file version