Before you begin
Your community must contain the Files widget for you to be able to share folders with the community. The widget is automatically added to a community when it is first created, but if it has been removed, you can add it to the community again if you are a community owner. For information about adding widgets to a community, see Adding widgets to your community to make more functionality available
Anyone can share folders with a community to which they have access, but only the community owner and the folder owner can remove a folder from the community.
About this task
Any community member can share folders from the Files application with their community using the Files widget. The type of folder that you can share depends on the type of community that you want to share the folder with. A public community can contain only public folders, and a restricted community can contain public or private folders.
To share folders with your community, complete the following steps.
Parent topic: Adding files to a community
Sharing files with your community
- From the Files widget on the Overview page, click the Folders tab.
- Click Share Folders.
Note: If you are the first person to share a folder with the community, click Share Your First Folder.
- Select a folder category from the following options:
Table 1. Folder categories
|Recent Folders||Folders recently created in the Files application.|
|My Folders||Folders that you own in the Files application.|
|Folders Shared With Me||Folders shared with you from the Files application.|
|Public Folders||Public folders in the Files application.|
- Select the folder or folders that you want to share.
- Specify the level of access that you want community members to have to your folder or folders from the Community members can access the selected folders list:
Table 2. Folder access levels
|Reader||Readers can view the content of any files in the folder.|
|Contributor||Contributors can add files to the folder, delete files they added themselves, and view information about files in the folder.|
|Owner||Owners have ownership of the folder along with the original owner. They can share the folder with other people and delete any file. The owner of a file can delete it or remove it from a folder.|
- Click Share Folders.