The person who uploads a file for the first time is its owner.
If the owner does not share or make the file public, the file is private, and only the owner can read and edit it.
Owners can share their files with people or communities. People can have Reader or Editor access to the file. Communities can also be granted Reader or Editor access.
- Reader access: Readers can read, comment on, download, and recommend a file, be notified of changes to the file, and share the file. They can add a file to one of their folders, or to a folder to which they have Contributor access.
- Editor access: Editors can read, edit, comment on, download, recommend, upload a new version of, and set properties on the file. They can be notified of changes to the file, and share it. Editors can also add a file to a folder of theirs, or to a folder to which they have Contributor access.
Editors can lock a file. However, editors can only unlock a file they were the person who locked it. A file owner can unlock a file regardless of who locked it.
Owners can also make a file public, meaning everyone who can access IBM
® Connections can read the file.
In some file lists, private files are marked with a private icon, shared files are marked with a shared icon, and public files are marked with a public icon.
If a file is both public and shared, it is marked with a public icon.
Parent topic: Using
What is Files?
Uploading and sharing files
Working with other people's files
Using file tags
Tracking file and folder changes