Working with community widgetsAdded by IBM on February 11, 2013 | Version 1 (Original)
|Use the options available from the widget action menu to interact with the widgets in your community. The actions that you can perform depend on your role within the community.
Before you begin
You must be a community owner to edit, hide, move, or remove the widgets in a community. Also, you must be logged in to Communities to perform these tasks.
From the community Overview page, click the Actions
in the title bar of the widget that you want to work with, and then do one of the following actions: in the title bar of the widget that you want to work with, and then do one of the following actions:
Parent topic: Adding widgets to your community to make more functionality available
- To expand or collapse the widget content, select Maximize or Minimize.
- To update the widget display, select Refresh.
- To work with widget settings, select Edit. These settings differ depending on the type of widget that you are working with.
Note: Some widgets cannot be edited, in which case the Edit option does not display on the action menu.
- To temporarily remove the widget from the community, select Hide. You can reactivate the widget at any time by selecting Community Actions -> Customize and choosing the widget from the Hidden section of the content palette. Hiding a widget does not delete the information that you already added. If you add the widget to the community again, any information previously added is restored to the community.
- You cannot hide the Members and Recent Updates widgets. These widgets are automatically added to every community when it is created and cannot be hidden.
- When you hide the Bookmarks widget, the Important Bookmarks widget is also hidden.
- To permanently remove the widget from the community, select Remove. When you choose this option, any information previously added is permanently deleted.
- You cannot remove the Members and Recent Updates widgets. These widgets are automatically added to every community when it is created, and cannot be removed.
- When you remove the Bookmarks widget, the Important Bookmarks widget is also removed.