Edit configuration property settings to set up a schedule on which to permanently delete the activities and entries that have been moved to the Trash view.
Before you begin
To edit configuration files, you must use the wsadmin client. See Starting the wsadmin client
About this task
Activities that are deleted are moved to the Trash view and can be restored from the Trash view. You can schedule the permanent deletion of activities and entries after a time interval that you specify. When the scheduled job runs, the activities and entries in the Trash view are permanently deleted from the system. Items that are purged from the Trash view are not recoverable.
To schedule the permanent removal of activities or entries from the Trash view, complete the following steps:
- Use the wsadmin client to access and check out the Activities configuration files.
- Use the following command to access the Activities configuration file:
If prompted to specify which server to connect to, type 1.
The information about which server to connect to is only used by the wsadmin client when you are running administrative commands to collect statistics.
- Check out the Activities configuration files using the following command:
- <working_directory> is the temporary working directory to which the configuration XML and XSD files are copied and are stored while you make changes to them. Use forward slashes to separate directories in the file path, even if you are using the Microsoft® Windows® operating system.
Note: AIX and Linux only: The directory must grant write permissions or the command will not run successfully.
- <cell_name> is the name of the WebSphere® Application Server cell hosting the Lotus Connections application. This argument is case-sensitive, so type it with care. If you do not know the cell name, you can determine it by typing the following command in the wsadmin command processor:
- Microsoft Windows:
- Display the current Activities configuration settings using the following command:
From the returned list, look for the settings that begin with jobs.TrashAutoPurge
; these control trash deletion. Determine which property values you want to change:
Number of days after which you would like activities and their entries removed from the Trash view. Specify the value in days. The default value is 90. jobs.TrashAutoPurge.interval
Note: Do not set this value to 0. When it is set to 0, activities and their entries are not removed from the Trash view.
Frequency with which the job to check for expired content runs. See Scheduling tasks for information about the format to use to specify the interval. The default value is 0 0 2 ? * SUN, which specifies that the job should run weekly at 2 AM on Sunday.
- To change the property values, use the following command:
ActivitiesConfigService.updateConfig("jobs.TrashAutoPurge.interval", "0 15 10 L * ?")
The 0 15 10 L * ?
value schedules the job to run at 10:15 AM on the last day of every month.
- Optional: If you want to prevent the trash purge job from running altogether, you can use the following commands to disable the jobs:
- After making changes, you must check the configuration files back in and you must do so during the same wsadmin session in which you checked them out for the changes to take effect. See Applying property changes for details.
When making configuration changes to the TrashAutoPurge scheduled job you are modifying settings in the oa-config.xml
file. The following sample oa-config.xml
file segment removes content from the Trash view after 100 days and runs the job to check for expired content at 10:15 AM on the last day of every month.
<!-- cluster scoped jobs -->
description="Permanently removes Activities Trash"
interval="0 15 10 L * ?"
Parent topic: Managing trash
Checking out the Activities configuration files
Applying property changes in Activities
Managing the scheduler