Consider these things first before upgrading.
If you had a previous version of the Network Client Installer (NCI) installed on your system, and you are installing this version as an upgrade, there are some things you should consider:
- If a previous version of NCI is installed, it will be detected. The new version will install directly without the need to manually uninstall the previous version.
- The client update site that is installed on the web server will be overwritten with the update site on the client CD. This means that if you have added features to this site and use the siteXmlUpdater tool, you will need to re-run this tool after the update.
- The client installers and manifest files will be overwritten with the client installers from the client CD. This means that if you have customized the provisioning manifest files in the install/deploy directory, you will need to re-customize these files after the update.
Parent topic: Installing with the Network Client Installer: XPD621