Normally, a task's status will become expired at the expiration time set in the task. For tasks that use notification it is possible for the server to modify the task status prior to the expiration time set in the task.
The server will only automatically expire a task after the notifications have been sent to all targeted clients and those clients have connected in and received the task and there is not a possibility that the task will run again. If a task uses notification it will be automatically expired if the following conditions are true:
- The schedule is set to run once.
- The task is not targeted to a filter. Tasks targeted to a filter are not automatically expired because new clients may become members of the filter after all the filter members receive the task during the initial notification.
- All the clients have run this task.
When the server automatically expires a notification task, the state of the task will be AUTOEXPIRE.
Parent topic: Client notification: XPD622