In a multiuser configuration, use the Provisioning application to maintain the existing platform.
The Provisioning application is primarily intended for the deployer or administrator to use to update the main installation of features. The provisioning application, when used to do maintenance to the existing platform, will install, enable, disable, and remove features from the platform. To cause the other users on the platform to be able to access the changes, then the provisioning manifest should be updated, and the provisioning.manifest.version property should be updated. If these changes are not made, existing workspaces will continue to use their current configuration.
By using the mergemanifest command in the global install handler, the preferred model would be to distribute a new feature containing additional or updated provisioning manifest items that would be merged with the existing manifest. This will result in all users upgrading to the latest configuration at next launch of their workspace. (And all new workspaces being immediately set up with the latest feature configuration).
Users making use of the Provisioning application are only going to update their local application list (present in their workspace).
If a management system is intending to call the Provisioning application, then it will need to do so in the context of an administrator with rights to modify the existing platform configuration.
Parent topic: Using the Provisioning application: XPD622