1. Packages are not deleted in case you find "a bug" in your new content and you want to go back to a previous version. I would recommend not to delete it, but you can.
2. Do a query on the LMS DB and find entries that have been deleted. You can then delete the pkgXXXXX folders. There's a tech note from Lotus that explains how to do this.