Jul 13, 2017, 4:13 PM
261 Posts

Sametime decides when Domino Designer saves

  • Category: Application Development
  • Platform: Windows
  • Release: 9.0.1
  • Role: Developer
  • Tags: interoperability
  • Replies: 1

It may be worth disabling Sametime alerts or shutting down Sametime if you're developing.

I've got Sametime alerts popping up periodically. But today I went to rename an agent. In the middle of the rename, an alert popped up.

Designer promptly saved the rename I was editing.

Jul 13, 2017, 4:43 PM
296 Posts
Designer and Sametime

Thanks for the info! I was not aware of that and I'll have to be much more careful with Designer!

The interaction between Designer and Sametime is interesting - back in the 8.5 days changing focus to Designer would cause Sametime sidebar to disappear completely. Apparently that has never been fixed (as I just tested it again).

http://www-10.lotus.com/ldd/nd85forum.nsf/dba3ca7e515d55ff85256a0700727b35/0f281470f89c06c785257ac6005cb78c

We're running Sametime here, it's pushed out via Policy - but I'd chosen to not start Sametime some time ago since I use designer a lot. Hpowever, even if Sametime is set not to start via Notes.ini parms, opening Designer starts Sametime anyway. 

http://www-10.lotus.com/ldd/ndseforum.nsf/xpTopicThread.xsp?documentId=006E9C92DE1404B385258091006C1DCD#3974DB144EBEAE278525809A00611506