Deleting a web content libraryAdded by IBM | Edited by IBM on June 24, 2012 | Version 3 (Show original)
|When a web content library is no longer required, you can delete the library.
When a web content library is no longer required, you can delete the library.
- You must be an administrator to delete web content libraries.
- A library cannot be deleted if there are references to items in the library being deleted from items in other libraries.
- A library is only deleted on the current server. If syndicating to other servers, you must delete each library on each server separately.
- If you want to prevent any changes being made to items stored in a library, but would like those items to still appear on a rendered site, you should disable the library instead.
- You should backup your library before deleting it.
- Do not shut down your server during deletion as this will corrupt the library. You will need to reinstall your library from your backup if this happens.
- Deleting a library is an intensive process and will increase the load on your server. A less load intensive alternative to deleting a library is disabling a library. See Disabling a web content library for further information. Disabling a library can also be used as an alternative to deleting a library when a library cannot be deleted because there are references from items in other libraries.
To delete a library:
Parent topic: Web content library management
- Go to Administration > WebSphere Portal > Portal Content > web Content Libraries
- Click on the library you would like to delete. on the library you would like to delete.
- Click System Reports to open a list of library deletion reports.
- Click the latest report to review the library deletion.
Note: Items that were previously deleted but not purged from the library are not included in the "total items deleted successfully" count.