Lifecycle and synchronizationAdded by IBM | Edited by IBM on May 13, 2014 | Version 8 (Show original)
|Workflow is used to keep the base site and localized sites synchronized. The creation, modification, publishing, expiry, deletion, and moving of site areas and content can be synchronized across locales using workflow.
Creating, updating and moving translated content and components
To keep content and components synchronized between locales, a special workflow stage that runs after the approval stage is created in the base library. This is used for the updating, moving, and creation of content. If the current content item has already been published, the action should be an update or move action. Translated content is treated as new content if no published version exists.
When new content and components are created in the base library, one of the following actions should be run against each configured localized library and a notification sent to localized content owners:
- The item is copied into the library for later translation.
- The item is linked into the library if no translation is required. This only applies to content items.
- Nothing happens and the library is ignored.
When content or components are updated in the base library, draft copies of existing published localized items are created and a notification sent to localized content owners.Moving
When moving content in the base library, rather than move the published content, a draft copy of the published content should be created first and then the draft moved to the correct location.
When the draft content is detected as moved within the base library, draft copies of the existing published localized content should be created and moved to the corresponding location in the localized library. A notification should then be sent to localized content owners.
- To ensure that the base item and localized items are published at the same time, project integration can be enabled for the Update Notification workflow synchronization extension.
- When project integration is enabled, then all associated draft localized documents are added to a temporary project that is automatically published when all documents have been approved.
- When the project is published, a notification is sent to all localized content owners. When the project is successfully published, the project is deleted.
- To ensure that the base item and localized items are expired at the same time, another special workflow stage is required. This workflow stage is run after the publish workflow stage.
- If every published localized copy is in the publish workflow stage, and all their expiry dates are in the past, then items are moved to the next stage that contains the expire action.
- A notification is sent to all localized content owners when documents leave this stage.
Parent topic: Using the multilingual solution
- If a base item is deleted the localized content should also be deleted. To handle this, another special workflow stage is required. This stage should be either be placed after the expire stage if content expiration is used, or after the publish stage if content expiration is not used.
- To delete an item, you need to push the item to the final workflow stage. In most systems, only an administrator will have access to do this. When processing documents in this stage, if the base item is detected, or no base item exists, then all draft, published and expired localized copies are removed and a notification sent to all localized content owners informing them of the deletion.
- If a localized item is detected and the base item is in another stage, then a deletion request notification is sent to the localized content owners informing them that various localized copies are ready to be deleted.