® administrators, folder managers, and chat room owners can archive chat rooms. Archiving the chat room will place it in the archive view and remove it from other views for all participants.
About this task
When a chat room is archived, it is moved from the Chat Rooms view of the All Chat Rooms tab and placed in the Archived Chat Rooms view. Only administrators, folder managers, and chat room owners with archived chat rooms can see or access the Archived Chat room view. Other users can no longer enter or even see the chat room. If the chat room was in a user's My Chat Rooms tab, then it is removed from that view after it have been archived.
If you would rather temporarily suspend participation and end access to a chat room without removing it from the Chat Rooms view, you should disable it instead of archiving it.
Follow these steps to archive a chat room.
- In Sametime Advanced, click All Chat Rooms.
- Click the name of the chat room that you want to archive.
- Click More Actions -> Archive.
- When the confirmation message appears, click OK.
The chat room is moved to the Archived Chat Rooms
Parent topic: Administering Sametime Advanced