® Advanced user data is stored in an IBM DB2
® database, and can be backed up using the DB2
Before you begin
About this task
The default Sametime
Advanced configuration requires that DB2
be shut down for backup. This is because by default, DB2
is configured to reuse the recovery logs. If you want online backup, the database can be configured to archive the recovery logs. In that case, the database is backed up, and all archived recovery logs are backed up. The recovery logs that have been backed up must also be periodically removed. If the database runs out of space to archive the recovery logs, the database will stop accepting changes until space is available.
Database backup and recovery is fully outlined in the DB2
information center. See "Developing a backup and recovery strategy" at http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/db2luw/v9r7/index.jsp?topic=/com.ibm.db2.luw.admin.ha.doc/doc/c0005945.html
The only special backup consideration for Sametime
Advanced is that because the full text indexes are maintained outside of the database tablespaces, after a restore operation the dbtext.sh
scripts should be run to drop and recreate the text indexes to match the restored data in the database. You can find these scripts at CD1/SupportingFiles/DB2.
Parent topic: Administering Sametime Advanced