Participating in Meetings on an Apple deviceAdded by IBM on December 19, 2014 | Version 1 (Original)
|You can participate in a meeting by viewing the content being shared by the presenter, displaying those who have joined the room, viewing and sending discussion items, and sharing documents from the library.
You can display and hide the meeting room's vertical tab bar by pressing the sidebar menu icon on the top left of the screen, which appears as three horizontal lines. The vertical tab bar allows you to choose what is shown in the left side panel view of the meeting screen by pressing the following tabs:
Table 1. Vertical bar actions
|Meeting||Only available on iPhones. Displays the projector window in the main view. This is the default view when joining meetings on a phone.|
|Participants||Switches to the Participants view, which lists all participants and room owners in the meeting. From this view you can tell who is sharing, who has their hand raised, and who is participating in the voice and video portion of the meeting.|
|Library||Switches to the Library view, which shows all user uploaded files, links, and polls available for the meeting. |
|Discussion ||Switches to the Discussion view, which shows all messages between the room participants for the meeting.|
|Video||If the room is provisioned for Audio and Video, this view will show up to four video feeds once the user has joined the video portion of the call. |
|Info||Displays the room information and, optionally, the event details of any associated calendar event. You can also add this meeting room to your Favorites list by pressing the star icon next to the room title.|
On the iPad, the left side panel can be hidden or shown by tapping the max/min projector icon on the title bar. The user can also use left and right swipe gestures to hide and show both the vertical tab bar and the left side panel. When both are hidden swiping right on the title bar will show them.
Table 2. Table of room settings and actions
Join Room Voice and Video
|You can join the audio or video portion of a meeting directly from your device using this button. For more information, refer to Joining a voice or video call from your Apple device.|
|Tap this to personally leave the meeting or end the meeting for all participants (room owners and managers only).|
Note: If you are in a Connections Cloud room and you are provisioned for IBM Connections, you will be prompted with the option to create a meeting report before ending the meeting. Meeting reports are saved in the My Files section of IBM Connections.
Room Actions and Settings
|Press this to open additional settings and actions, including:
- Record Meeting - This starts a server side recording of the room. The server performs the recording and also saves and stores the file. Only room owners and managers have this option. When you touch this option, you will be prompted to specify the name of the recording, the file format of the recording -either Windows Media (WMV/.wmv) or Quicktime (H.264/.mov) - and the privacy setting (public or private). A public recording can be viewed by any user in the room when they tap the View Recordings action menu (described below). A private recording is only available to owners and managers of the room.
- Change Room Settings - Allows you to change basic room settings, such as the room name, security settings, and call in information. You can also set whether the room is a "Lecture Style Meeting" in order to improve performance. This option is only available for room managers and owners.
- Change Permissions - Allows you to set who can perform a variety of meeting functions such as presenting, downloading from the library and managing the meeting room. You can choose to allow everyone, selected participants, or room owners and managers only for any of the functions. This option is only available for room managers and owners.
- Create Meeting Report - Creates a meeting report and saves it in the My Files section of IBM Connections. This is an IBM Connections Cloud only function. This option is only available for room managers and owners.
- Remove Room Content - Removes all content from both the Library and the Discussion views. This option is only available for room managers and owners.
- View Recordings - Allows a manager to view public and private recordings for this room. Non-managers will only be able to see public recordings.
- Help and Support - Displays a dialog where the user can launch the online help or report a problem to IBM.
Raise Hand/Lower Hand
|Raises or lowers your hand in the meeting. Press the hand icon in the lower right of the screen.|
On the iPad, the left sidebar, which displays the participant, library, and discussion information can be hidden or shown by tapping the side panel icon at the top.